The Department of Environment, Community and Local Government (DECLG) allocated €220 million overall to individual sub-regional (county) areas for the purposes of the implementation of the LEADER elements of the Rural Development Programme by Local Action Groups within those areas. As announced in Budget 2015, an overall €250 million will be allocated towards the LEADER element of the Rural Development Programme.
LEADER funding will be used to support sustainable economic development projects for rural communities ranging from tourism, agri-food and other business activities. This money will be targeted at tackling social inclusion, rural isolation as well as increasing the capacity of rural communities to participate in economic development. The exact nature of the projects chosen will be based on ideas that emerge from the communities themselves. An expression of interests process will begin shortly.
Table 1: LEADER Allocations 2014-2020
Sub regional Area Programme AllocationRural Dublin €6,370,438.43
Kildare €5,261,600.01
Meath €6,903,123.57
Wicklow €6,336,549.00
Carlow €6,416,803.43
Kilkenny €7,791,572.91
Wexford €9,840,140.56
Tipperary €10,103,443.28
County Waterford €7,522,796.18
County Cork €13,938,823.22
Kerry €10,219,868.29
Clare €8,920,224.65
County Limerick €9,276,593.96
County Galway €12,195,883.61
Mayo €11,121,431.88
Roscommon €8,852,659.22
Louth €6,101,862.01
Leitrim €5,998,474.74
Sligo €7,655,647.81
Cavan €8,522,285.84
Donegal €12,913,877.86
Monaghan €7,592,719.51
Laois €7,124,586.86
Longford €7,597,623.07
Offaly €8,036,763.90
Westmeath €7,384,206.22
Total €220,000,000.00
Press  Office Tel: (01) 888 2638  (direct) (01) 888 2000
Web site: